Day 147 • Something Beautiful 2022: Talieson

Something Beautiful is the resurrection of a 2014 initiative to find a visual feast for each day of the year.

My baby sister and her daughters braved the elements driving in from Milwaukee through the storm last night. No tornado whisked them to Oz, but Villa Lucci is very much an Emerald City after the rain and hothouse temps.

Happily, the temperature and humidity have dropped as tonight the four of us are off to American Players Theatre in Spring Green. Nestled only 30 minutes from the villa in the Wyoming Valley, it is the home of the magnificent Talieson. Frank LLoyd Wright’s artist’s enclave and creative mini-mecca of the midwest.

My love of architecture began with Wright’s prairie style. I often looked a Wright student designed buildings and imagined that one day I might reside in one, instead I chose another beauty and am close enough to admire the other any time I like.

Leave a comment