Y2 Art Resolutions: #24-The suma in submission

Y2 Art Resolutions is the second year of an evolving resolution to elevate every day by looking at art and creativity as a life’s philosophy.

Over the past few days, I’ve learned that anxiety can open some of the deeper wells of creativity. In trying to stare down what’s locking up my mind at the moment, my brain has no extra juice to be over ambitious in judging or evaluating what I see and imagine. in a way, it’s like a fog has lifted. There is a new freedom and playfulness in what emerges. I am fresh and open minded. I see and enjoy the delight of mental novelty.

Today, I had plans to spend time in Dog-in-the-Hole Studio creating some specific and fun items for Christmas. But on the heels of the geisha, I wanted to see what would come in intuitive drawing, and for 3 hours I found out.

I like the idea of working with Japanese design and aesthetics. After letting my hand go creating the intuitive rendering, I began thinking of all things Japanese. To my amusement,  a suma appeared. I enjoyed seeing a bit of Picasso in the line and interpretation. The work was absolute flow. Periodically, I would laugh out loud and to myself. There were no difficult decisions. Everything seemed to resolve itself.

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, Beauty, creative living, Creativity, Design, Graphic Design, Philosophy, the beauty of imperfection, The Mind and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

