Y2 Art Resolutions: #18-Lost in Wood

Y2 Art Resolutions is the second year of an evolving resolution to elevate every day by looking at art and creativity as a life’s philosophy.

Art Retreat. August has historically been Art Camp month. The Muchmore Pie and Art Festival. Last year was the first in six years when the three original participants did not meet. This year, minus one of the originals, Art Camp became an impromptu Art Retreat. After a week and a half helping to close my Mother’s house and prepare it for sale, a retreat was exactly what I needed. I have found art to be therapeutic or, at the least, a healing outlet for other losses or periods of grieving or rebuilding in the past. On the heels of my Mom’s death, I have been creatively prolific. Perhaps I have had a greater need than at other times. Much of the tone, technique, and expression of this creativity has been different and surprising.

Tenants of Art Camp. There are basic “givens” at art camp. There will be fresh pie made and served. There will be wine and other libations (Patron shots are becoming a tradition). There will be deep philosophical conversations and when held at Moon Lake, ther will be long walks in forests seeping with the scent of pine and sand. We will see art and other beautiful inspiring things. And we will create, often sharing new techniques or exploring them together.

Carving. Camp Hostess Judy introduced me to the Dremel rotary hand tool. Ah, power tools. Judy planned to use it in carving blocks for a project. I had no preconceived notions of what I would make. I only knew that I have wanted to carve for a long time. So, I now own a Dremel. In the course of experimentation, I realized I wanted a hand carved look for the designs I was creating. Judy pulled out her hand carving set and I got completely engrossed in learning how to manage both the tool and the wood. I will look into videos and books now that I am home, but the experience reminded me of the joy and exhilaration of experimenting and learning by doing–identifying problems and working through the process of solving them. It is a different kind of knowledge.

Wood Tiles. Clay tiles have been on my mind for some time. I have had bas relief designs just waiting for a medium and wood was at my hands. Having recently watched the “Craft in America” episode on how “place” informs the work of many artists, I have been very focused on drawing design inspiration from places that are important to me. Flora has been top of mind and I have found abstracting natures shapes a pond colors totally absorbing. This was how I came to begin my series of carved tiles beginning with a design inspired by both morning glory and geranium blossoms and plants. When it was complete, I sprayed it with a gloss sealer. The perfect finish to pump up the acrylic surface painting and natural wood grain.

And then, I carved on . . .

image

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Design, Gardens, Graphic Design, Nature, Philosophy, Poetry, Sculpture, the beauty of imperfection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

