Y2 Art Resolutions: #14 – Canadian Creatures

Y2 Art Resolutions is the second year of an evolving resolution to elevate every day by looking at art and creativity as a life’s philosophy.

The week has been full and productive. Creative and fluid. As I read the words, they seem insignificant in comparison to the freedom and energy they represent. The five studies produced over the last week represent the most focused, fluid, and artistically fruitful time I’ve experienced period over the last year. The ideas have been in my head, but getting them out and realized has been hard.

Over a short week, I have been amazed again at how the creative process grows like a fire. I began the week with an preferred technique and style. With each study, at least one aspect of that formula changed. I love that those small changes, those tiny discoveries are such profoundly rewarding. For me, those moments are the ones in which I become a wide-eyed child again. The teen falling in love for the first time. The mom experiencing a birth.

The idea of focusing on the abstract exercise has been good in that I have experienced development. The progression of learning is so potent. This new exercise revealed a Canadian goose — or, rather that is what I saw in my head. Coloration changed again but I added plain grey pencil into the patterning mix and a different line quality. Probably one of the most pleasing parts of this piece was that a narrative emerged from the background. I was able to see as the goose would–clouds above and fields below. Interestingly, when I brought it into the Tayasui Sketches program, I didn’t like any of the layers I added. Nothing I did there contributed to building the piece.

When I compare the goose to the others, this looks a bit different again but still fits the series. Besides the vitality of the color and the strength and boldness of the key line, I like the sense of evolution and history in this series. I’m not ready to stop yet.

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, creative living, Creativity, Design, Nature, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Y2 Art Resolutions: #14 – Canadian Creatures

  1. ephiker says:

    I just tried playing around with Tayasui sketches, it’s a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

