Y2 Art Resolutions: #13-Tiny Creatures

Y2 Art Resolutions is the second year of an evolving resolution to elevate every day by looking at art and creativity as a life’s philosophy.

When I began working these exercises again,  I figured a series was emerging. But yesterday, after “creature in contemplation,” I saw only sea vegetation in  my next sketch. The floating flowers caught my imagination with their whimsy. When I searched for creatures, I could find none.  Since the marker colors were getting tiresome, I figured that my theme was shifting and decided it was time for more nuanced color. Then a surprising thing happened. Lady Bugs showed up. After I worked the watercolor, I brought the study into the Tayasui Sketches program and used the pen and pastel tools.

I like this. I like the gentle nature of the piece and the subtle softness of the palette and unpretentious presence of the tiny critters.

image

FullSizeRender (2)imageFullSizeRender (1)imageimageimage

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Design, George Clooney and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Y2 Art Resolutions: #13-Tiny Creatures

  1. Tell me more about this Y2 Art Resolutions… I’m intrigued! Is it a series you’ve created, or what’s your philosophy behind the resolutions? I tried to find the first post of the series but couldn’t from my phone…

    • vbassoc says:

      Anna–so glad the resolutions caught your attention. That’s part of the point. The idea of a resolution rooted in a daily appreciation of beauty and creativity started in 2013. Dear friend and artist, Mike, said to me he needed to see one beautiful thing a day to deal with the hardships of life. It seemed a great meditation in a world where so much is focused on the negative. So, for a year I posted “Sonething Beautiful” nearly every day. I found the daily exercise of finding a beautiful focal point transformative. The next year, I tried to expand the practice to creating something every day. As an artist, I felt this was important to staying connected and building my own creative skills and insights. I did not post every day but, again, the daily practice was transformative. So Y2 represents the second year of trying to stretch creatively every day. It is my hope that the journey I describe will resonate with others and help them find the inner resources to focus on beauty and expand their creativity. I hope that doing this, I can contribute something that enriches life for others and helps contribute to a better world.

      What part dies creativity play in your life?
      Donna

      • That’s awesome!! I love the idea of creating and/or seeking beauty, intentionally, every day. Creativity is one of the central points of my life: while I still have the everyday mundane tasks to complete, I am most fulfilled when I also carve out time for faith, an art/writing project of some sort, and time with my husband and community and sharing my thoughts. That’s why blogging is so helpful for both of us, it seems: it makes us purposefully seek out the good and beautiful things in this messy world!

Leave a Reply

