Y2 Art Resolutions: Bootstrap Design

In grad school, I made a documentary about how different kinds of artists defined “creativity.” My Mom, a quilt maker, said creativity was making something from nothing. This aligns with her strong affinity for frugality and often annoyed me growing up. At that time, I saw it as a severe limitation to creativity. Ironically, I learned over time that having limitless access can be overwhelming and paralyze creativity just as scarcity of resources can.

As I’ve aged, I’ve come to appreciate my parent’s bootstrapping approach to life though for different reasons. For me, limited resources forces me into more elaborate thinking about how to bootstrap something for which I have a full appreciation. It is a different kind of creativity which, for me, often results in greater innovation and/or originality. Besides the intellectual experience of bootstrapping, I think of it more often in an ecological sense. If I repurpose something cast off, I protect the environment.

The dilemma.

As I said before, my approach to creativity and design can change significantly if I am bootstrapping. For probably 6 or 7 years, I’ve been holding a garbage bag full of yarn my sister Laura bought at a garage sale while visiting Wisconsin. There are skeins and skeins of yarn. Lots of white. A few years ago, I began an afghan using the white. About half way through, I realized the whites did not all match and there wasn’t enough of one color to finish a single piece.

For a while I thought about what to do and contemplated donating the lot. But the more I thought about it, the more intrigued I became. My solution was a variation on neutrals. I have a variety of whites and bought a couple skeins of a variegated beige. I created a color scheme and adapted a baby afghan pattern to create a lap blanket. The rhythm, repetition, and patterns of knitting are relaxing and often stimulate creative thinking about other things. In this case, the knitting kept me from feeling guilty about watching hours of “The Good Wife.”

The outcome.

As I approach the end of this project, I am pleased. I like the aesthetic. I created a solution, a design, solved math problems, and finished an endeavor. If only all of life were as satisfying and neatly completed.

lap blanket

 

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in George Clooney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

