Study 100: Art Resolutions-The Mt. Muchmore Pine

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year.

When I moved to Mt. Muchmore, I was little impressed with the crooked, lone pine that stood sentinel on the front lawn. Not a fine specimen of fuzzy fur that I was used to, I even speculated whether it was better without a tree than this sad, misshapen representative of the tall ones. That thought was fleeting, of course. No one who knows my love of trees could fathom I would kill one purely on aesthetics. After all, how many Charlie Brown Christmas trees did I rescue from tree lots before I was married?

No. I could not imagine taking the tree down. Over time I have come to cherish its odd place on this unique property. As it was the only original evergreen on the place when I arrived and my only connection to life up North. My affection has grown over time and I have painted it in winter and begun abstracting it with thoughts of making it my studio logo. I have thought for some time it would make an interesting block print. Two weeks ago, I worked on my first study. I need a bigger block, but think the study was a decent representation.

It felt good to carve again. The materials for linoleum block printing are so much easier to work with than the traditional. Carving time is highly reduced and it makes preliminary studies and small stamping projects quick to complete. So here she is. The Mt. Muchmore lone pine in all her glory. Already I have ideas of how I will use this and what my next steps will be. Long may she live.

image

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Design, Farm Life, Gardens, Humor, Nature, Philosophy, the beauty of imperfection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Study 100: Art Resolutions-The Mt. Muchmore Pine

  1. Judy says:

    Very nice, Donna! How do you transfer the block to paper without a press?

Leave a Reply

