Study 80: Art Resolutions-The Boys 2015

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year.

About six weeks ago, I began this post. That weekend, I began working on a painting of my sons. There is a canvas sitting in the corner of the studio that is the beginnings of a painting of them that I began 15 years ago. I have been combing the house looking for the photo I took as a reference. Somewhere, someday, I will find it. In the meantime, I am taking a gigantic leap in time to paint Philip and Thomas as the men they are today. Very strange.

Ironically, great life changes have interfered with the current painting as they did with the earlier one. I have also considered the blocking and I have significant reworking to do before I can focus on the classic portraiture technique that I wished to explore. This too will come, though not too quickly I suspect.

Though I have strayed far from my original course, this is not the only product I have been able to produce in 6 weeks. I have two studies from my week at Pleasant Lake and rough layouts of my new adventure–a sustainable house. More on that later.

For now, it is good to reconnect and perhaps the energy of this connection will resonate with that missing picture. Or eight hours sorting through drawers (sigh) . . . one can only hope.

Boys-2015-oil-blocking

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

