Study 79: Art Resolutions-The North Bed

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year.

After years of observing my behavior and thought processes, I understand that there needs to be “space” in my life for me to create. Those spaces have opened up again lately after several months of being shut out while I moved as fast as I could to keep up with life. Space and the technicolor world that is early summer–both account for this weekend’s creative surge.

Saturday morning after a pounding storm, I was up early and determined to do more Mt. Muchmore garden painting. This time, the north bed. The one with the most color and interest in composition. I sat and worked expecting to be chased off by another storm that never came. I worked for probably an hour. Maybe 90 minutes — until it became muggy and the bugs started chewing. At first I thought I’d return to the painting later. Work on the background and some detail in the rock house foundation. But I find I like the way the focus stays on the garden with the rest slightly undefined and out of focus. Patches of color that remind me of Cezanne only in pastel. I become more fond of it each time I look at it. The essence of my garden is in it and, so , will live on.

image‘s

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, Beauty, creative living, Creativity, Gardens, Nature, Philosophy, Poetry, The Mind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

