Study 76: Art Resolutions-La parapluie fini

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year.

Saturday, June 13, 2015. Cincinnati, Oh 6:23am–on the studio couch…

A roll on flow can take you a fair distance. Last weekend’s creative surge spilled over into strategies at work, ideas in the car, and restless sleep. For all intents and purposes, I completed the umbrella painting inspired by art marker studies in March and experimentation with the early stages of the painting in my Tayasui e-drawing/painting program. There are some finishing touches with edges and decisions as to whether I will varnish some or leave it matte.

There is satisfaction in finishing it and in resolving its technical challenges. But there is also a sense of delight and perplexity about this piece. Nothing about it resembles anything else I have ever done in oil. It is a quite different palette than the rest of my work and there is no specific representational inspiration on which it is based. I can only resolve that it came out of my craving for warmth and sun and an end to winter. The shapes are pleasing to me and are inspired in broad sense from Japanese parasols prominent in old woodcuts. The colors are pure  joy. I had planned to make it flat design, but I ended up adding dimension by shading under the canopies–it just seemed to be what I needed to do. I have whited away the bottom and left a nod to realism in keeping a blustery sky at the top. Friend and artist, Bea, felt there needed to be a more explicit story about the small umbrella that seems to be floating away. As I began that exploration in my epainting versions, I was ultimately convinced to split the difference in presenting a blend of my original stark design concept and the storyline adding a sky.

Be that as it may, I continue to look upon it on my wall with a puzzled smile. The umbrella shape is mirrored around my house in lamp shades that share the same proportions. The mind is a fascinating thing. I am wondering where mine will travel next. For now, I believe la parapluie est fini.

image

 

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, All Things French, Art, creative living, Creativity, Design, Graphic Design, Philosophy, Poetry, The Mind and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

