Study 70: Art Resolutions-When Fat Ladies Sing

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year.

You know the old saying. “It’s not over until the fat lady sings.” If you thought you had see imagethe end of catalpa trees and mountain ranges, you haven’t. Today’s travel from 9am-6pm provided ample time to weed down to the minimalist me.

I have an artist statement brewing in me. One that explains my current style as a reflection of everything else going on around me. The complexity of the world we live in and, consequently, our lives–is pleading for some simplification. And that is showing up in my need to incrementally pull things away from my work. The process of reducing has become simpler and more reflective due imageto digital tools. In my electronic studio, I can create endless variations on a theme and preserve all the versions in between. This tool makes me more brave and inspires greater risk.

But far more than the fun of experimenting was the great surge of awareness as I whittled each full piece in search of its essence. Exhilerating really. I have weeks worth of experiments to show, but will start tonight by returning to the catalpa tree. After finishing probably 15 variations on the Wasatch Range–simplifying, abstracting. catalpa-fullRemoving things. I was energized and full of ideas. I went back to the catalpa to see how far I could edit and still have something worth standing on its own. Some exciting things happened. Here are the first two steps moving away from the original watercolor.

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, Beauty, creative living, Creativity, Design, Gardens, Nature, Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

