Study 56: Art Resolutions-Over Coffee

Art Resolutions is a self-imposed initiative to create an art study every day for a year. Welcome to Study 56.

I am well behind in my posting but funerals and a respiratory virus have been interfering with my objectives. A new painting and art exhibitions have been my artistic pursuits in the interim. Despite neglect in this venue, art continues in my life. Now all I have to do is share it with you.

As you might guess, all the distractions have pushed things out of balance. Yesterday, I enjoyed the sun which has made few appearances lately and took a stroll around town. Ultimately, settling into Starbucks with my travel journal and a distance from real life to pull all the rest together. After scribbling satisfying resolutions to my current life dilemmas, I pulled out the drawing pencils and focused through the paned window to a dormant bougainvillea trunk and empty Romanesque planter.

starbucks drawing

pink greyhoundsWhen I was nearly finished, a gentleman tethered two pink clad greyhounds to the hitching post adjacent to the urn. I see painting potential in that image. Later, Cinci sister, Becky, and I traveled to the 47th Greater Hamilton Art Exhibition. In February, Becky sent a newspaper notification about the show and encouraged me to enter. The day before entries were due, I quickly inventoried what would qualify and with low expectations entered a little expressionist landscape and on a whim also entered an abstract landscape. Neither were framed, and as presentation was part of the rating, I questioned whether it was worth submitting two finished edge canvases. To my surprise, I received notification two weeks ago that the abstract had been accepted. Last night there was a wonderful turn out for the lovely reception and an interesting and very diverse show. Given that I was an art major and have been actively involved in painting most of my adult life, many are surprised that this is my first juried exhibition. It was wonderful to have something accepted and has piqued my interest in future competitions. In the meantime, the experience stimulated new ideas for future work and provided an entertaining diversion in a challenging week. One of the reasons that art is so important.oil-2 trees verona back road

 

 

 

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, Beauty, creative living, Creativity, Nature, Philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Study 56: Art Resolutions-Over Coffee

  1. Judy says:

    Nice! Hope you had a wonderful Thursday. Tried to call you and hope you got my vmail at work. (Your cell phone mailbox was full). J

Leave a Reply

