Day 5: Art Resolutions–The Studio Before Daybreak

Art Resolutions is a 2015 self-imposed charge to create an artistic study each day for a year. Welcome to Day 5. 

Yesterday, I had lunch at a local Thai restaurant and found that there was little to commend it to a study. Let me be frank, little that I found compelling. Art has a great ability to capture the mundane as a magical moment in time, but the restaurant had too many “right” angles and was too small for me to capture a study of a patron without causing a stir and making some poor soul squirm. So I kept my pencils in the box over lunch and thought about them later in the day on returning home in the bitter subzero cold. Thought about them several times when I came to consciousness during the night and figured I would get up this morning and capture the last moments of the waning life of dying white mums in a vase on my bedroom desk. Instead, at 5;45am I headed to the studio for my ritual coffee, meditation book reverie, and journal entry. There I saw many still life images that moved me to sketch. I chose to do a 20 minute study of my painting easel and half-finished canvas of the boys. The lamplight cast soft shadows on the wall and even though much of what I drew was straight edges, they all converged in odd angles, in strange ways, casting subtle grey aliases on the wall.

The biographic sketch has a certain depth that the “on the road” study does not. And it pleased me that some morning in the future, a child, grandchild, or friend will come across this and think–“so that is what her studio looked like that morning in 2015.”

Day5-studio easil

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

