Day 118: Something Beautiful—In fair Verona . . .

Something Beautiful is a self-imposed initiative to find a visual feast for each day of a year.

Wisconsin. Southerners think it two miles from the edge of the Universe. Figuratively, that maybe not so outrageous. As I write from Darlington, Wisconsin, spring and winter are still at war. But each day the grass grows greener and a little longer. At dinner last night, my cousin Mary spontaneously pronounced that Wisconsin is beautiful. And everyone agreed. Though the conversation drifted to other topics, I have continued to ponder all the art of this land.

On reflection, I recall a place in fair Verona. A morning trip over rolling county roads. In search of inspiration for a photo and a painting, a magical place reveals itself. Guarded by a venerable oak, a meadow unfolds filled with silvery fronds waving in the breeze and taunting young willows on the periphere. Framed with shy moss, introverted sedum, modest bellwort. Sheltered by bushes with broad shoulders. An enchanted garden  inspired this photo, this painting, these early morning thoughts of something beautiful.

enchanted garden-12011-Magic Garden-Verona

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Gardens, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 118: Something Beautiful—In fair Verona . . .

  1. slurryart says:

    I am a new artist, and not good at offering my thoughts on art, so please understand, if said wrong, I mean my comments to be high praise. I really love this work, the short strokes, the flow of the shapes, the color variation, and how everything just fits together nicely. I like your painting better than the photo, which is beautiful, especially your venerable oak. I’m enjoying your daily posts and your writing, thank you 🙂 ~Scott

    • vbassoc says:

      Scott-Thank you for the lovely compliment. I was trained as an artist and my style is molded by my interest in color, experience as a calligrapher, and also the influence of Asian art. In my career, I’ve done extensive writing as a script writer and essayist. I’m so glad that you have enjoyed the posts. They have been a wonderful exercise for me personally and have connected me with a new group of artists, writers, poets, philosophers, and lovers of beauty. I’m very grateful that this has been such a positive undertaking. Congratulations on exploring your own voice as an artist. I will look forward to visiting your site and learning about your art.
      Donna

  2. Ev says:

    A most delightful description, Donna. Feeling peaceful this morning.

  3. Pam says:

    What a gorgeous painting, Donna. Thanks for sharing your art with us!
    Pam

  4. ephiker says:

    Makes me homesick for Wisconsin.
    Mary is right, it’s beautiful and your painting is beautiful, love it!

  5. Vicki says:

    Beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

