Day 48: Something Beautiful—Peacock Couture

Something Beautiful is a 2013 self-imposed initiative to find a visual feast for each day of the year.

The spring haute couture trotted down the New York runways this week.  I’m shameless when I see a good story. And, a trial submersion into the fashion subculture had all the earmarks of not just a good story but a great one. So was my motivation for buying a general seating ticket (at 30 minutes early, I got a second row seat) for the Sinead Fachelli and Catalin Botezatu 8pm shows at The New Yorker hotel. My Mother  would have been disgusted by Fachelli’s workmanship and fit. Her snug, puzzle cut sheaths rode up the model’s diminutive derrieres.The Project Runway judges would have surely noted that Botezatu could not edit his “bling.” But, I thought it was perfect. The pre-show did not disappoint. Posturing former models indignant that their front row seats were taken snarled at other former models who refused to accommodate them. Flamboyant designers gesticulated wildly to make sure they were seen. And kissing. Lots and lots of cheek kissing.

peacock3

One of the Fachelli models had me baffled. Was she trying to establish a distinctive new walk or really struggling with the shoes. I used to walk like that in Mom’s heels when I was five. My money is on the shoes.


peacock-1 runway red shoeYes, there was wild hair, theatrical makeup, breastless models, poor tailoring and bling abandon. That did not keep me from appreciating the peacock befeathered finale of the second show. Spectacular white and glorious peacock. The crowd was generous with exclamations of pleasure, “Ooooh.” A light storm of flashes. The true


finale for me was that post-show moment when I unceremoniously elbowed my way to the runway to give “the red” shoe it’s moment. I’m not sure there’s much more I can do  to laud my red pump but I have one more day in New York  . . .

About vbassoc

Donna Van Bogaert is a researcher and consultant in the field of cognitive styles, health communication, and organizational communication and behavior. Her business, Van Bogaert & Associates, Inc., specializes in cognitive-based coaching, management consulting, and leadership development. When the winds are blowing her way, she travels and talks about workplace potential and creative problem solving. In another life, Donna sings jazz. For a very long time, she fronted two 18-piece big bands —All That Jazz (Madison, WI) and The Gardenia Big Band (Rockford, IL). She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio where, in a third parallel universe, she leads a media branch of a national research institute. Mostly she has returned to painting, poetry, and plotting the next chapter of her life.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Art, creative living, Creativity, Humor, NYC, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 48: Something Beautiful—Peacock Couture

  1. Bea Neal says:

    The RED SHOE, BEST OF SHOW! AMAZING RED SHOE parades down the runway to the amazement of the crowd. Beautiful in it’s simplicity and a must for every woman. What is life without a good pair of red shoes!
    I wish I had been there, what a hoot. I can just see those people in their “drama” mode. Having worked with people like them I can hear them quite clearly in my mind. :)B

Leave a Reply

